Where it all started…

My love for romance started, undoubtedly, with Danielle Steele. I spent countless hours as a teen and young adult reading her stories. I was mesmerized. She made a nerdy, shy girl believe that one day I’d find my true love.

I think the job of a good writer is to make you feel everything that the characters are feeling. They transport you to a different time and place. For the time it takes you to read their stories, you can become a different person. The beautiful heroine who fights for love, a girl who risks everything to find her brother and save the world, or a young man who falls in love with someone he’d normally not give a second glance, but learns what it truly means to love another person and yourself. It’s magic. For a brief moment in time, you can become someone else.

From Danielle Steele I went on to Nicholas Sparks. He is my all time favorite author. I don’t think I’ve read a book of his that I didn’t like. Raising my two children didn’t leave too much time for leisurely reading, so unfortunately I went some time not being able to indulge as much as I’d like.  As my kids entered their teenage years and would rather spend time with their friends or hibernating away in their rooms, I found myself with more time on my hands.  I figured it was time to start doing the one thing I loved. Reading.

The book that changed things for me was Fifty Shades of Grey. It was February 2015, about a week before the movie was coming out. It looked interesting, so I decided to see what all the hype was about. I downloaded the series onto my kindle and dove in. I read all three in a week. I know there’s a lot of controversy surrounding these books but they truly changed my life. They reignited my passion for reading — I think I’ve read at least seventy books since then. I got inspired and decided to “dust off” my laptop and finish the story I had started writing. (They also added a little spark to my marriage, which at the time was going through a rough spot.) People can say that they “glorify” or “condone” abusive relationships, but I disagree. While they are erotic stories, it’s not just about the sex. If you read all three, you’d see there is a story line there. A story I fell in love with.

That brings us to today, and this blog. I wanted to put myself, and my writing, out there. This past year has been an eye-opener for me. The world of publishing is definitely not for the faint of heart, and it seems like rejection is always this ever-present dark cloud that looms overhead,  but I will press on. I will succeed because failure is just not an option. It’s never too late to follow your dreams!

I have a story planned for future posts, so stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Where it all started…

Leave a Reply

