Real Life Romance

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, as I’ve been devoting most of my free time lately to working on my manuscript. I’ve been searching for inspiration for my next short story and I got to thinking about how the average person experiences romance. Let’s face it folks, most of us don’t experience romance the way it’s portrayed in books and movies….that’s why it’s called fiction…and that’s why they are so much fun to read and watch. They give us a break from our everyday normality and transport us somewhere magical. They can also inspire us to add a little more romance to our own lives.

The truth is, the average person isn’t typically wired the way that men and women are portrayed in romance novels and chick flicks. Over-the-top romantic gestures are most common during the “honeymoon” phase of a relationship, but then when things get more comfortable…and your significant other is certain they have won your affections…the romantic gestures sometimes become few and far between. Now there are some people out there who’ve managed to snag themselves one of the rare ones — the natural born romantic — and if you are one of those people, then congrats! If you’re not, don’t fret, there is something to be said for the simple things in life.

While it’s nice to get flowers sent to you at work “just because,” or surprise gifts, or even romantic candle-lit dinners….those are just things. Yes, they make us feel good but I think the truly beautiful part of a relationship is when you can find the romance in the simple things…the things that one wouldn’t normally consider to be romantic. Things like driving twenty miles out of your way to bring your spouse a change of clothes. Coming to their rescue by killing a spider, even though you’re not talking because you’ve had a fight. Not leaving your side when motion sickness is making your morning sickness worse during a cruise. Washing the dishes when you really don’t feel like it because you know your partner has had a rough day.

It’s not the material “things” we give each other that show our love or make us romantic, but it’s the “things” we do.  After all, if you boil it down, isn’t a romantic gesture just a way to show someone how much you love them and that you are thinking of them?

If you think there isn’t any romance in your life, I challenge you to take a closer look. Seek out the simple things. Look for them and cherish them. Every successful relationship requires give and take, so think of little things that you can do to show the ones you love that you are thinking about them.

Below is a picture of me and my  love on our wedding day. For over twenty years he has done tons of simple things that show his love for me. I hope he knows how much I appreciate them. The one I love the most is that he always ends every phone call with I love you. I had gotten so used to it that I almost took it for granted until one day my mom pointed it out to me. She thought it was really sweet that he did that…and she was right, it is. It was a “simple” thing that he did every day that became so common that I didn’t realize how special and romantic it was.  Don’t take the little things for granted, because the “little” things usually end up being the most important things.

While I’m working on my next short story, I’d love to hear about the “little” things in your life that make you feel special. If you feel so inclined, please share by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

