Happy Mother’s Day

The definition of mother according to Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary is:

Definition of mother

1.     a : a female parent • She’s the mother of three small children.

b (1) : a woman in authority; specifically : the superior of a religious community of women • Mother Theresa (2) : an old or elderly woman •Mother Hubbard

This seems like such a simple black and white definition of a word that has so much more meaning. The words that come to mind when I think of my mother are:  loving, kind, generous, strong, beautiful, wise, creative, passionate.

I recognize the fact that I am blessed to be able to feel this way and have the relationship that I have with my mom. She’s my best friend. Not everyone has that. It is a gift I cherish.

I was lucky enough to be raised in a loving home with loving parents. I was blessed to have a strong woman to look up to. My mom was — and still is — the hardest working woman I know. She is an incredible nurse who touches the lives of her patients daily. As Diane Von Furstenberg said, “I didn’t always know what I wanted to do, but I always knew the woman I wanted to be.”  This rings true for me and even if I’m only half of the woman that my mother is, that would be a great accomplishment. They are big shoes to fill.

She is my mother, my friend, my biggest fan. She is the worlds greatest grammie and loves all her grandkids something fierce. She is the woman who taught me that there is no such word as “can’t.” She is the reason I pick myself up and dust myself off after each defeat. The reason I trudge along trying to accomplish my dreams.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom!!! I love you more than words could ever say!

Leave a Reply

